In Like a Lion

My Black Beauty
My Black Beauty

My Guardian
My Guardian

Snow at the Shore

Snow at the Shore

The Winter Sky Glows Over the Water 

 

 

March arrived with a blanket of frosty white snow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Snow falling at the beach is a spectacular sight. As it layers the ground turning all it covers a bright white the large expanse of water remains dark but without  color. The shades of blue normally seen in water reflect the color of the sky above. During a snow storm the sky is a multitude of dark greys. This is an interesting change from the usual colors seen along the shore.  The wind plays a big roll in a storm on the water and it’s always windy here. Rarely will the snow fall down, instead it’s pushed horizontal by the driving winds.  Some ground areas are left totally barren of snow while drifts build up in spots where the wind can’t reach. 

Snow storms in Vermont are quite different then here on Long Island. Up in the mountains, surrounded by bare trees, a snow fall can be gentle, even one that will pile up not just inches but feet of deep snow. In the woods the storm is soundless, nothing can be heard outside. And the whole world  looks like a black and white photo.  These photographs, of Moose, were taken at my home in Vermont. They are different then my photos of snow at the beach. Hiking in the woods with a soft snow falling is peaceful and very serene.

  These past few days I enjoyed being tucked in at home painting and playing with my animals. While the storm raged outside I stayed toasty warm inside, not having to venture out, all I needed was right here at home. Having a day where you are forced to be home allows you to choose what activities you will do. I love to paint. Given a day where I’m stranded indoors, I get out my watercolors and immerse myself in the joy of painting. How do you spend your time during a snow storm? Next time you find yourself snowed in get your paints out and   Paint with Me

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on March 4, 2009.

3 Responses to “In Like a Lion”

  1. yes, we too had a unusual snow fall in March -here in Virginia. I spent a lot of time just watching the beautiful scenery 🙂 Thank you for sharing your photos.

  2. We were thinking of you… if you were having a blast in the white out…your pic’s are most spectacular. thanks nancynancy

  3. Great website, Lorraine! Good luck.
    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

 
