Day 5 Painting with Lian Quan Zhen

 
____________________________________________________________
 
Lorraine's Koi Fish
Lorraine’s Koi Fish
 
      Today was all about fish and I loved every minute of this class.  My home on the water has a sea side feeling from the inside out and I can already imanage the future paintings I’d like to create to fill my walls.  I had a great time learning so many things about fish, their shapes, & sizes, their movement in water and most important, their eyes. Those eye sockets are challenging.
Lian's Paintings of Fish Eyes

Lian's Paintings of Fish Eyes

Here you can see Lian’s painting of fish eyes. He paints so realistic yet his style is so loose and flowing with color. ___________________________________________________________

Lian helps with Jeanne's painting

Lian helps with Jeanne Salucci's painting

Lian shares his knowledge with us

Lian shares his knowledge with us

_______________________________________________________

 

Jeanne Rogers Koi painting
Jeanne Rogers Koi painting
This is one of the talented artists that I had the pleasure of  spending the week laughing and paintings with.
  ________________________________________________________________
  
Last painting of the workshop

Last painting of the workshop

 This week was filled with many new and fun  techniques that I will use to help me fill my paintings with more  excitement. The only disappointment I felt this week was that I didn’t get to fininsh any one painting. So, I’ll be out in my studio spending many hours working and enjoying it. I won’t be happy till I see some completed paintings.  I’ll be busy  having a wonderful time painting  the next week or two, what do you have planned?  Why don’t you  
 Paint with Me
______________________________________________________________
___________________________________________________________
 
~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on July 26, 2009.

11 Responses to “Day 5 Painting with Lian Quan Zhen”

  1. Awesome work.

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

  2. Wow lorriaine thanks for posting your adventures! I really enjoyed reading about it and I am saving up for the next one!
    Looks like you guys had a great time and now I can’t wait to
    PAINT WITH YOU! 🙂 chris

  3. i like the colour and the stressed style

  4. Thanks for the comments, it was a blast creating these colorful paintings

  5. The class was a lot of fun! The company of fellow artists was even better. Looking forward to the next one.

  6. Incredible! Just when I don’t think I can love your work any more, you go and amaze me again. Beautiful work!

  7. I took a class in Oregon with Lian Zhen….what a wonderful, colorful person…a real joy to be in his class. From start to finish….he makes you believe you can do it and you can when you are through. I always get more compliments from the paintings I do using his techniques than any of my other paintings….

  8. Painting with Lian Quan Zhen ia an amazing experience….all artist’s should attend a workshop and play with his techniques. I’m glad that I posted the 5 day workshop because not only was I able to share it with you…but now I have a visual reminder of my week with him. Thanks for you comments, Lorraine

  9. Great post, I am almost 100% in agreement with you

  10. Are there any DVDs of your painting technique. Dont know if I can make it for 5 days to a workshop.
    Thanks,
    Sarah

  11. Lian Quan Zhen has several videos, go to his website for info

Leave a Reply

 
