Painting at StonyBrook

Today I met my painting friends at a beautiful spot on the water in StonyBrook NY. We haven’t had the opportunity to painting together in several weeks and I missed the camaraderie we share.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

StonyBrook Mary & Jeanne___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

We had 3 additional artists join us and it’s always great to see other painters versions of the same scene, especially when the artists are full of talent like these woman are.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Rose Ann

Rose Ann

Carol

Carol

Joan

Joan

Joan's OIL painting  (1 of 2 she did today)

Joan's OIL painting (1 of 2 she did today)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

These are my Plein air watercolor paintings. The larger one is 15″ x 7.5″ and I like the dark  contrast in the tree line and the water’s edge. The smaller painting, 7″ x 5″, was fun because it was just something I played with  while the other painting was drying between washes. I often work on two of the same scene, this allows me to feel free to try anything I want always knowing I have a second painting to stay “safe” in.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

StonyBrook painting LGStonyBrook painting Sm_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

It felt right to be outside on a stunning day overlooking the water accompanied by talented artist friends. Next week we already have our location picked out. I’ll paint as often as I can till then, I’ll have a good time playing with my watercolors but I’ll be looking forward to seeing and painting with my friends.

Chris, you were missed today, so get ready, next week I hope you’re available to

Paint with Me

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on August 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Painting at StonyBrook”

  1. Hey, that was a great day. We have so much fun together!!!! I really enjoy the company that we share.

  2. Hey, that was a great day. We have so much fun together!!!! I really enjoy the company that we share. You really captured the essence of the place in your paintings.

Leave a Reply

 
