Maritime Festival in Greenport NY

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I was one of several artist who painted plein air in the village of Greenport LI during the “Maritime Festival”.

greenport Lorraine 1

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Each artist painted a scene from a location of their choosing within the Festival and their paintings went into a silent auction, part of the proceeds will be donated to help support the maritime museum.

Bruce was with me for the 2 days, he set up and sold my paintings, entertained the crowds and soaked up the sunshine.

greenport set up

greenport bruce

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I had a wonderful time painting and talking to the dozens of people who stopped by to watch me paint and check out my artwork.

greenport pic

This is the water view I was painting.

This is the painting that was auctioned off Sat night.

greenport painting

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 me  

Hello to all the people I met and thank you

to all the who purchased my art.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next year I will enter more plein air events around Long Island. This is a great way to spend the time painting and have the opportunity to show my art to a large group of people. I received many very kind compliments, which were greatly appreciated.

Seeing the art being bought by people who expressed a love for it is priceless.


I’ll continue to paint out on Long Island at various locations, if you see me come over and

Paint with Me

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on September 20, 2009.

5 Responses to “Maritime Festival in Greenport NY”

  1. Excellent Lorriane! Great that you have Bruce to help you too!
    Maybe next year I can do this too…..keep me posted
    chris

  2. LORRAINE – YOUR DOCK PAINTING WAS BEAUTIFUL ( LOVED THE SKY / WITH THE REFLECTION IN WATER )- I WISH IT HAD BEEN ON SUNDAY TOO – I WOULD LOVED TO BE THERE – PEGGY

  3. Great Job Lorraine! Looks like you and Bruce had a wonderful time!

  4. Sounds like a wonderful day! Very nice having Bruce as your partner at the festival.

  5. Lorraine, your work is beautiful. I thought about you as we drove to Montauk on Friday. Wish I could have been there. What a wonderful weekend it was.

Leave a Reply

 
