I Paint What I See

What is it I look for when I pack my art supplies and  head outside for a day of painting? It doesn’t matter where I am or what the subject matter is, I look for several things that must be present SHAPE, COLOR, TEXTURE & LIGHTING.Creek V Allison'sThese photos, taken at the creek overlooking Mastic Beach, are examples of Texture &  Shapes.

Creek texturesAnyone who has painted with me knows how drawn I am to shadows. This late day photograph of the wetlands in Mastic Beach is an example of the contrasting dark & light that I love to paint.

CreekShadows 1

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creek Lighting The lighting changes  constantly and quickly. Here the upper photo has texture in the sky in the form of clouds but the land is lacking color and lighting. I can combine the sky into the lower photo so I have all the components I desire in one painting

Creek Lighting 2As an artist I can alter what I see to help me create the best imagining for my painting. When I paint I want you the viewer to feel what I felt as I stood on the water’s edge. I want you to wish you were standing there at that moment when the lighting and colors were amazing. I hope I have achieved that in my paintings.

As you go through your day, no matter what you are doing, look for the textures, colors and shapes around you.   Painting brings me joy and lets me see the world differently, and I want you to see it too that’s why I ask you to

Paint with Me

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on September 30, 2009.

2 Responses to “I Paint What I See”

  1. There is obviously a lot to know about this. There are some good points here.

  2. Lorraine I love your explanations and your enthusiasm! I can’t wait to paint with you and look forward to the next post! chris

Leave a Reply

 
