Oct Art Shows

Entering art shows allows me to receive critique from unknown judges and lets me know how I’m progressing as an artist. Now don’t get me wrong, many excellent pieces of art are entered into these shows and do not receive awards, the judging is still only the opinion of the individual asked to evaluate the artwork.

With that said, I am excited to have won ribbons in 2 shows this month.

The North Shore Art Guild at the Gallery on the Hill in Holtsville, NY held a show where my friends and I received awards in the watercolor division. 1st- Mary….2nd – Jeanne….3rd – Lorraine …Congratulations to us!

The Wet Paints Studio Group held it’s annual members show in Oakdale NY. I won 1st place in this show!   My friend Jeanne S won a honorable mention ribbon.

I currently have 2 pieces of art hanging in the town of Brookhaven annual art show in Blue Point, NY. This show runs till Oct 30th when they will announce the award winners.

Last year in Oct I won awards at all three show where I entered my art. That was a thrilling feeling and since I’m already holding ribbons from 2 out of 3 show I could possibly repeat that amazing achievement, I’ll let you know.

Painting and showing my art in local art shows has opened new worlds for me. I used to paint and then hide the paintings in a portfolio in my closet. One day, I decided to come out of the closet as an artist and I walked into an art gallery, introduced myself to the owner and asked if she would like to see the paintings of a local artist. We set up an appointment,  she liked my art and offered me the opportunity to hang it in her gallery. Now almost 3 years later I’m winning awards, you never know what can happen, but you must at least try. I have sent my art to The American Watercolor Society to be considered for their annual show, I was rejected last year and I will try again this year. Rejection from one of the worlds best shows was not upsetting. The excitement of entering was wonderful.

I’ll continue to paint what I see and what I like. I’ll enter shows and hope that one day to be accepted into the AWS. In the meantime I’ll paint with my artist friend, attend workshops and have lots of fun….starting today as I wet my brushes and start a new painting.

Paint with Me

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on October 17, 2009.

2 Responses to “Oct Art Shows”

  1. I like the way you explained all that Lorraine, you made it seem not so scary. Congratulations on your evolution! c

  2. Congratulations on all the competitions you are in this month, and all of the awards you have won. You are so talented; you definitely deserve them!

Leave a Reply

 
