Seals in Mastic Beach

Today I found a Harp Seal in the shallow water in front of my house. This was the first time I spotted a seal, although my friend Alison has photographed them floating on ice in the middle of the bay. I was so excited to see this gentle animal here on the shore but I was concerned about its health. Bruce contacted the Marine Research & Preservation at Atlantis Marine World in Riverhead NY and they sent a rescuer, Jackie, to retrieve the stranded animal. My niece, Samantha and nephews Eddie & Chris came over as soon as I called to aid in the rescue.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

We all put our best efforts into saving this beautiful animal but our good dead was not rewarded . The Harp Seal was found in critical condition and did not survive. Jackie did her best by getting here as soon as possible, we did our best by calling in a trained animal rescuer but we were all too late to save this seal. I am not sad, our efforts didn’t save the animal but now I know that along with the deer, swans & hawks, the seals are sharing this majestic waterfront, that I am so lucky to live on, with me.

Maybe I’ll paint a portrait of this seal, this way I will always remember it.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on January 30, 2010.

7 Responses to “Seals in Mastic Beach”

  1. Seeing these pictures gave me goose bumps! Amazing how that seal chose you and Bruce to be with him at the end. A blessing for all involved…

  2. Thanks Debbie, It was amazing to see this poor animal lying there in the cold. I’m sorry it didn’t survive but I’m glad we got to help it.

  3. I live right up the block and can’t believe that this beutiful creature was here. I’m glad that it did come to you guys since your always helping the animals in the area.
    God Bless you guys for being there, at least you gave the seal a chance.

  4. good Job,Lorraine & Bruce- you did what you could…….
    I had no idea we had seals here! and I’ve lived here all my life too- though not as close to the water as you!

  5. Thanks, Olivera. We do try to help all the homeless animals that are dumped in our neighborhood. This was a gift to try to help this seal, so sorry it didn’t make it.

  6. LORRAINE
    YOUR FEBRUARY PAINTINGS ARE BEAUTIFUL THE COLORS ARE SO SOOTHING
    PEGGY

  7. TJPSE ARE VERY TOUCHING PHOTOS IAM CRYING,, THINKING OVER THE DECADES HOW YOU AND BRUCE HAVE RESCUD AND LOVED SO MANY ANIMALS SOMETIME EXPERIENCING OVERWHEMING PAIN WITH THE LOSS OF THEM. IT IS FITTING HOW THE SEAL FOUND IT’S WAY TO YOUR BEACH. AGAIN YOU BOTH DID WHAT YOU ALWAYS DO. I AM SORRY THE SEAL LOST IT’S LIFE BUT IF IT HAD TO END IT COULD NOT HAVE ENDDED IN A BETTER PLACE WITH YOU AND BRUCE. YOU BOTH ARE A VERY SPECIAL COUPLE XXX K

Leave a Reply

 
