Chris’ Painting

___________________________________________________________

When I started painting an artist I met at an out-door art fair gave me some good advise. She told me to join several art groups so I could enter my art into local shows and I could meet and paint with other artists. Well I took her advice and joined 5 different groups including the “South Bay Art Association” in  Bellport NY. This is an active group which hosts many events such as, a weekly sketch group with live models, monthly meetings where guest artists demo their individual talents, an annual art show called “Art on the Lane” in the town of Bellport and a members art show held on Memorial weekend.

It was through this association I met the extremely talented, past president of SBAA, Chris Taylor. We had fun painting en plein air during the warm weather months and have continued as friends painting and showing our art in various shows, plus we share space in the Fiedler Gallery in Greenport NY. Chris delighted me by doing a palette knife oil painting of one of my photos, and I’m excited she sent it to me so I could share it here on my blog.

____________________________________________________________

Chris' oil painting

My photo of a recent snowfall

______________________________________________________________________

Chris captured the lighting on the beach grasses perfectly and I love the depth she achieves in the painting by her placement of Fire Island in the distance.  Watching Chris paint is like listening to a song that’s well sung. She works at placing her shapes and lines accurately into the picture and then fills in the supporting melody of colors and forms. She works in oil and watercolor and she also does gorgeous batik. You can see her work at her website, cataylor.com , please visit her and tell her I sent you.

Painting has opened up a new world of friends…I paint with the best and most talented people. If you haven’t yet tried painting or drawing now’s a good time to start. The weather’s warming up, the days are getting longer and we’re all ready for a change of scenery. Get out your art supplies and

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on March 16, 2010.

One Response to “Chris’ Painting”

  1. Thanks Lorraine for the opportunity to paint with you– I can see now where this little piece can use improvement. I often go to your blog –you are such a great writer –your enthusiasm is inspiring! Thanks for writing it and encouraging me to paint along with you!

Leave a Reply

 
