Marianne’s painting

_________________________________________________________________________

Another art group I’m a member of  is  “Wet Paints Studio Group” in Sayville  NY.  As a member I can attend monthly meetings, critique nights, sketch groups and show my paintings in 2 annual members art shows which are held at  the Bayard Cutting Arboretum in Oakdale NY.

It was through this group that I met Marianne, a fun and talented artist who works mostly in watercolor. Marianne is from Sayville and has been painting about 7 years. We have painted outdoors at various locations and she amazes me with her ability to capture a scene in a delightful and colorful realistic style. She sent me a painting she did and I’m thrilled to share her art with you.

_______________________________________________________________________

Marianne's painting

________________________________________________________________

Soon I’ll be out side painting with my friends, including Marianne. I love painting and capturing a moment, so different from taking a picture. The irony is, I painted from photographs so I could learn to paint what I see. Being outside is so overwhelming,  filled with colors, shapes and exciting images, it can be intimidating. I had to discipline myself to focus on my subject and paint only that subject. Nature is so captivating. Everywhere I look I see images that I feel would make great paintings.

Today it’s cloudy and cold out so I’m inside my studio working on a new painting, using lots of bright colors which help brighten my day. Today is a good day for you to,

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on March 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
