Families are like fudge, mostly sweet with a few nuts.

Ever since my sister Donna passed away in 2001 my sisters and I have started an annual tradition of meeting at a hotel for a “sisters gone wild” weekend.  We join together to reminisce about our lives as children, to unburden ourselves of our daily lives and to share each others happiness and sorrow. This past weekend 4 of us spent time in Nanuet NY.

Annie

Christine

Cindy

After hours of rummaging through clearance racks at dozens of stores we check into a hotel to sip martinis before heading to a local Mexican restaurant for dinner. Annie supplied the drinks, which helped relax us and start the party rolling.

____________

Lorraine

Apple Martinis

After dinner it’s back to the room, a quick change into comfortable cloths and many hours of non stop talking and laughing. Thanks to my dad we snacked on the best stuffed jalapeno peppers.

The next morning we were up and out for another day of bargain hunting. We trotted in & out of dozens of stores filling my SUV to the roof with our must have treasures.

Cindy taking a break

We laughed as the packages seemed to multiply and spread window to window with each trip back to the car. A fellow shopped, named Diana, was kind enough to stop and take a picture of all 4 of us. She confessed that she felt like an accomplice adding to our day of insanity. She left us as we walked to a local pizza place for a quick lunch to nourish and sustain ourselves for more shopping.

Cindy, Lorraine, Annie & Christine

Although we had a fun time this adventure was planned for a reason. We are here, as a family, supporting one another and we are trying to distract my sister Cindy, if just for a moment, from the pain of loosing her precious son Brian. He died 6 months ago and no family should endure the grief my sister has been through. I know she enjoyed herself but I also know how hard each and every moment of her days are. I’m glad she came with me on this trip, it make me feel good knowing that I can help her smile for awhile.

_________________________________________________________

“I don’t believe an accident of birth makes people sisters or brothers.  It makes them siblings, gives them mutuality of parentage.  Sisterhood and brotherhood is a condition people have to work at.”  ~Maya Angelou

“There can be no situation in life in which the conversation of my dear sister will not administer some comfort to me.”  ~Mary Montagu

____________________________________________________

With a packed car and an empty wallet we head home to our real lives. This trip went well, it was the first time 4 of us traveled together. Hopefully not the last.

Sister to sister we will always be,
A couple of nuts off the family tree.
~Author Unknown

_________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on April 25, 2010.

6 Responses to “Families are like fudge, mostly sweet with a few nuts.”

  1. What a fabulous girls’ weekend you had! I’m so glad you and your sisters were able to have such fun together. I agree with the quotes too. I feel blessed every day to have my sister, who may be connected to me by birth but is also a best friend. I just wish she didn’t live 2,500 miles away!

  2. Thanks. The pictures are great. I love all of you! xxoo

  3. How lucky all of you are…to have each other!

  4. what a cool idea! I only have one blood Sister and I treasure her, she’s my best friend and we talk and email daily –but also my many “sisters” in life whom I depend upon to laugh and cry with, or just whine ( with wine of course!)

    LOVE the quotes!

  5. Those martinis are missing cherries!!
    Thanks to my sisters for a great distraction. These have been the hardest 6 months of my life, the pain of losing a precious child can be unbearable some days. It makes you realize how not much matters. Forget the petty nonsence and treasure the ones you have. If you can pick up the phone and call your children to tell them you love them, do it right now. In the blink of an eye that can be taken away. It was nice to get away and remember all the good times we had on Coolidge Ave. I love my sisters and want to thank them for a great time. And yes Christine you deserve to be invited back next year 😉
    Love, Cindy

  6. Yeah!!!!!!!
    Can’t Wait!
    I’m buying the cherries today, after all the red dye will preserve them forever!
    Remember. two nights and bathing suits!
    Love,
    Christine

Leave a Reply

 
