Northport & Art

___________________________________________________________

On Sunday May 2nd the town of Northport NY had an art walk through out the village. If you’ve never attended an art walk it’s a fun way to spend an evening with friends. Northport is a lovely town and very active day and night. Balloons are displayed outside the shops that are featuring artists. For instance, we saw the paintings of an artist, Ellen Winter, who was showing her animal portraits at Petport in the heart of the village. The town is extremely dog friendly, everywhere we went we saw people walking their dogs. Shops had water bowls on the sidewalk for thirsty pets to drink as they passing by.

___________________________________________________________________

A cute shop, notice the dog bowl out front

A family of friendly dogs, sitting pretty

____________________________________________________________

We arrived early to do some painting of our own. The waterfront was a perfect spot to relax, watch the boats & people go by while we painted.

___________________________________________________________

Picture Perfect

Chris & Jeanne

________________________________________________________

I saw some fantastic paintings and had fun with my artist friends. I did a small painting while I sat at the marina, trying to capture the beauty surrounding me.

_______________________________________________________

Northport Marina

______________________________________________________

Today was great and I learned a lot.

I have learned not to be intimidated by strangers walking up and watching me paint.

I have stopped worrying if I’m a good enough painter to go out in public and paint.

I have learned to enjoy the feeling and process of painting, anywhere & any time I feel like it.

I have learned that I will never be the greatest artist in the world but I am the best artist I can be.

I love to paint, I love playing with colors & shapes and I’m always happy when I’m outside on a beautiful day.

________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on May 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “Northport & Art”

  1. What a great time you had! I really like the list of affirmative things you have learned about yourself. It is a very difficult thing to put yourself in the public eye, but that risk can also be very rewarding.

  2. LORRAINE YOU HAVE REALLY OUT DID YOUR SELF – THESE ARE ABSOULETLY BEAUTIFUL – AND THEY REFLECT THE ALL THE COLORS AND SHADOWS OF SPRINGTIME
    PEGGY

Leave a Reply

 
