Getting Ready for an Art Show

_________________________________________________________

In less than a week I am having a solo art show, this means I have a tremendous amount of preparing to do to make sure this event is successful. I have been spending countless hours in my studio matting & framing my paintings, making sure the art looks great and is ready to be displayed. Fortunately, I have a terrific studio and I love spending my days there, but mostly it’s to have fun painting. As an artist, there are numerous alternative projects that need to be done, and I am hands on throughout the entire framing process. From ordering supplies on-line through my favorite art suppliers, cutting the glass to fit the frames, fitting the art work into various size mats, and finally putting the pieces all together for a finished product. Thanks to my talented artist friend,ย  Mary and her creative framing business I was able to have an assortment of custom cut mats, which made my job so much easier.

_____________________________________________________________

My studio is truly an oasis even when I’m overwhelmed with projects, I still find it a peaceful place to be.
A flat file cabinet filled with artwork.

______________________________________________________________

Choosing which painting I want to frame for the show is both fun and exciting. I have a decent amount of art and I sorted through several drawers picking my favorites. Some of my paintings I’m not ready to part with so they’re staying home.

______________________________________________________________

Things got so crowed inside the studio I had to move

outside to give myself some extra room.

______________________________________________


Frames filled the studio

Working on matting is wonderful, it’s like getting the bride dressed on her wedding day. Each piece that’s placed in a mat turns from ordinary to extraordinary. The transformation is spectacular.

Choosing the right mat for each painting
My studio work space
Admiring my framing

_________________________________________________________

Today, Bruce & I loaded the SUV with 31 framed pieces of art and headed to Tre Sorelli At Gatsby’s Hair Salon in Hicksville NY to hang the art. It went surprisingly well, only taking us 3 hours from start to finish.

Next on my list of preparing for my art show are the refreshments for the reception. My sister Cindy has offered to help me prepare a decadent table filled with sweet treats and an assortment of one bite snacks. The wine has been bought, the table decorations are in the works and the last-minute shopping for food will be done the day before the big event.

I’m in the home stretch with only 5 days left until it’s show time.

I’ve broken many pieces of glass while cutting it for frames and I have a few fingers bandaged from some mishaps.

Only 1 framed piece of art was broken during transportation, which I already replaced the glass & it’s good to go.

My biggest unknown is…will you be able to attend the show on Sunday the 16th at 2-6pm?

I’ll look for you and hope to find you there ๐Ÿ™‚

Once this is over I’m looking forward to plein air painting with my friends and enjoying the process of creating watercolor art.

________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on May 11, 2010.

4 Responses to “Getting Ready for an Art Show”

  1. CAN’T WAIT TILL SUNDAY – THE MONTHLY SPECIAL WITH BLACK FRAME IS BEAUTIFUL –

  2. Just enjoyed browsing through your painting with my niece Julia! I am so disappointed i have to work, Julia is hopingto attend, andwill beadding your website to her favorites! Good Luck, but most of all ENJOY!!

  3. LORRAINE THE SHOW WAS GREAT – I ENJOYED EACH PIECE THE SUPRISE ONE YOU ADDED BY YOUR STATION WAS BEAUTIFUL = MY MOM REALLY ENJOYED SEEING THE WORK I TELL HER ABOUT – ONCE AGAIN CONGRADUATIONS

  4. Hi Lorraine! My sister showed me the painting she purchase from you (not from this show, it was quite a while ago) and she also gave me your card. Well I finally got around to visiting your site and you blog and couldn’t resist commenting on this post in particular – Gatsby’s will always remind me of my mom ๐Ÿ™‚ Your paintings are just spectacular. What a talent you have. And the photos of your studio- what an idyllic setting to be creative – I am envious as I sit in my office in urban San Francisco ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe one of my trips back East will coincide with one of your shows as I would love to opportunity to see your work in person and maybe purchase something. Hope all is well. Best wishes to you, Lesley Zinn

Leave a Reply

 
