Quick Little Paintings

_________________________________________________________________________

Today I painted with friends at a private marina in the hamlet of Brookhaven called Squassux Marina. I prepared myself for a hot, humid and possibly buggy morning of painting but I was surprised to find myself quite comfortable sitting under my umbrella with a pleasant breeze keeping all the biting bugs away.

I usually try to spend a few hours enjoying the painting process, since this is my “job” nowadays. Today I could only afford myself less than 2 hours so I decided to work very small and try to capture a glimpse of the peaceful & beautiful surroundings. These are the postcard size painting I did.

_________________________________________________________________________

The Boardwalk

Path to the Boats

_____________________________________________________________________

I don’t worry about anything while I’m sitting outside immersed in the colors & shapes that nature provides me. It’s very challenging to focus in on an interesting subject because there is always so much I see that I would find stimulating to paint. Because it is so overwhelming I have learned how to pick the simplest view, as long as it has contrasting values and good shapes I can work it into a painting. I find it extremely safe & comfortable to work this small & fast.

Paint with Me

______________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on June 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “Quick Little Paintings”

  1. NICE!!!!!!
    See Ya Soon!

  2. THESE SUNFLOWERS ARE BEAUTIFUL

Leave a Reply

 
