Painting the Building in Vermont

___________________________________________________________________________

When I’m in Vermont I usually spend my time painting but recently I spent my money paying someone else to do the painting for me. House painting that is.

My 112 year old apartment building needed to be freshened up so we hired a local painter to do the entire outside. It had beautiful carvings of sunflowers which were hardly noticeable and intricate woodwork.

_____________________________________________________________________________

unpainted

The design details are lost

__________________________________________________________________________________

Although I am the artist I let Bruce pick out the paint colors. Several years ago I designed the logo & sign which hangs in the front of the building. Bruce picked those colors and we planned to use them when we eventually have the building painted.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Purple & Orange Sunflowers

____________________________________________________________________________

The transformation was spectacular. Not only were we pleased but the neighbors in town were delighted to see the building restored to its original beauty. Now that it’s completed I think I’ll practice sketching it and eventually I’d like to do a watercolor painting of the new and improved Gatsby’s of Brandon.

____________________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

______________________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on July 30, 2010.

One Response to “Painting the Building in Vermont”

  1. Oh, it looks so beautiful! Nice choice, Bruce!

Leave a Reply

 
