My Challenge = Painting Buildings

_____________________________________________________________________

Whenever I’m out plein air painting I avoid, when possible, adding any type of buildings into my painting. This way I do not have to reveal my lack of drawing skills. But as I grow as an artist I am enjoying the challenges of attempting the many shapes needed to draw a building, whether it’s a barn, house or skyscraper.

The first thing I do is look at the building, I mean really look at it! Learn to see the individual shapes, are there squares, rectangles, triangles & circles joined together to create the overall structure. I notice how the shadows, as additional shapes, add depth.

_______________________________________________________________________


______________________________________________________________

I painted from quite a distance away from the building so that I could draw this magnificent estate small, thinking it would be easier for me to handle. I used permanent pens to do the drawing. I find I draw much better with pens than pencils, I think it’s the commitment of the ink on paper that helps me. With pencils I get too wishy-washy knowing I can erase the lines if I don’t like them. Ink makes me think harder before I commit to a mark on the paper.

______________________________________________________________

Being an artist is always fun and always challenging. I like my art to grow and change so I will keep pushing myself. As in life, if we don’t learn and grow we become stagnant. I plan on continuing my growth through my art, while having fun and playing with watercolors.

______________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

______________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on August 18, 2010.

4 Responses to “My Challenge = Painting Buildings”

  1. THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL PAINTING THE SHADOWS AND COLORS ARE GREAT
    THE FRONT PORCH LOOKS INVITING FOR A COOL SUMMER DRINK…..

  2. You definitely have something here… As we know, it’s always good to challenge yourself as an artist!

  3. I can definitely relate to the commitment of ink! Although I enjoy starting out lightly with pencils as well. I think you have something really good here! You’ve captured light well, with all of the beautiful shadows falling across the house. Nice work. 🙂

  4. Thanks to Peggy, Jenn & Asrai for their praise & approval of my challenges with drawing. I am going to continue my drawing and keep posting my work, sharing my growth with you, lorraine

Leave a Reply

 
