Finding Color

_______________________________________________________________

Last weekend I relaxed in Vermont enjoying the cool weather and hiking in the woods with my dogs, Jesse & Moose. Fall hasn’t arrived, the trees are full of dark green leaves but the signs of change are visible. I found several leaves, on the trail, that were brilliant with fall color, showing me that fall is soon to come.

Early Fall Color

____________________________________________________________

Back home in NY I observed the remnants of my gardens and I was pleasantly surprised to find a bit of lingering color mixed in with all the dried leaves of what once was an abundance of brilliant flowers.

______________________________________________________________

This is the first year that my Trumpet Vine has flowered. I was surprised to find so many clusters of bright red/orange flowers filling the vines.

Each year I wait for these flowers to bloom at the end of the summer.

The last of the hot peppers alongside the last of the tiny yellow blooms of a plant I thought was finished for the season.

The Butterfly Bush has several purple spikes hanging on.

But the biggest surprise was the amazing white iris.  My friend Michelle gave me this plant and told me it would bloom twice, and how wonderful to have my favorite flower appear in my garden, again.

____________________________________________________________

I am always keeping an eye out for images to paint. Walking around my gardens,inspires me to haul out my art supplies and sit down to capture the last of the flowers. Once the gardens are gone for the year, I count the days till spring allows them to reemerge bringing new life and color to my yard.

______________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on September 15, 2010.

One Response to “Finding Color”

  1. It never ceases to amaze me how colorful Mother Nature can be!

Leave a Reply

 
