Setting Up + Starting A Painting

_________________________________________________

I started my new series which will be the October special on my website WaterColorArtisan. Each month I paint a series of 7 paintings, 1 large (11 X 15 ) and 6 smaller ( 5 X 7 ), which I offer at a special price. I have been doing this for over a year and it has become a successful project. Not only do I sell these paintings but it keeps my website fresh by changing the home page monthly, and forces me to paint, keeping me from slacking off. I have learned so much by painting the same image 7 times and I am amazed at the amount of time I dedicate to painting. I look forward to the challenge of each month’s new series.

This is the photograph I’m working from for my new painting.

________________________________________________

______________________________________________________

pencil sketch on watercolor paper – mask applied to save white areas

_________________________________________________________

I wanted to build up the foreground. I use a piece of water media clear acetate to lay over the image and it allows me to paint over the painting or reference material without touching the painting. I can apply brush strokes, colors and new lines and play with ideas. A wet paper towel wipes it clean so I can try new ideas instantly.

_________________________________________________________

acetate over photo

acetate over white paper

trying  new design ideas

______________________________________________

Using this product helps me make design choices & changes,  I can work out shapes & values, I can brainstorm and problem solve, take out all the guesswork  before I commit a brush stroke to the paper.

________________________________________________

Paint with Me

________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on September 23, 2010.

3 Responses to “Setting Up + Starting A Painting”

  1. Lorraine, your enthusiasm is infectious! Your committment is commendable, and I am truly grateful to be a part of your art world– chris

  2. I love your planning technique. This will be such an interesting composition!

  3. CAN NOT WAIT FOR OCTOBER – I LOOKS AMAZING..

Leave a Reply

 
