Greenport Festival

______________________________________________________________

For the second time I participated in the Plein Air event at the Maritime Festival in Greenport NY. Artists are encouraged to sign up and paint throughout the village. Our artwork is donated and entered into a silent auction in which a percentage of the proceeds go to the Maritime Museum and the local art association. This year I choose to paint in town and challenge myself by painting buildings. I picked this view because I wanted the structure and lines of the buildings,  I felt the building on the right was similar to having mountains in the background of a painting, something I’m comfortable painting. The white smaller building was a great shape and I was drawn to it because of the way it’s peeking out of the trees & foliage that’s surrounding it.

________________________________________________________________

I arrived in town on Friday, I wanted to have my painting completed by the end of the day.

This is the painting in an early stage. My major shapes are all started. As the artist I can add or delete anything within the scene still staying true to the subject I’m trying to capture. I wanted to add depth therefore I choose to open the space between the buildings by not filling it in with dark foliage, as it would look in the winter.

In the finished painting I brought back the colorful flowers that fill the gardens during the summer months.

I don’t know to whom or where the painting will go, I only hope someone will enjoy it and always be reminded of their good times in the beautiful village of Greenport.

The second day in Greenport I was invited to set up my artwork in front of the Fiedler Gallery where I have my paintings on display.

I don’t usually work at street fairs but I couldn’t refuse a opportunity to sell my art. I don’t have a professional tent set up so I make do with other items and let the colorful art be the attraction.

I had a wonderful time meeting people and listening to so many compliments on my art, that alone was worth the time & work involved. I had lots of sales too!

It was a long 2 days but doing something I love & enjoy and something that brings me much happiness is worth all the time & effort I expended. Driving home from Greenport I had plenty of time to think about what I wanted to paint next, where I wanted to paint next and how much I love being an artist.

________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on September 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “Greenport Festival”

  1. The painting is wonderful. I like that you opened the space between the buildings; it really adds to the composition. Congratulations on another successful festival, and on the sales to people who obviously know great art when they see it 🙂

  2. THE OCTOBER PAINTING WAS WELL WORTH THE WAIT – IT CAME OUT GREAT

  3. Thank you Peggy for always supporting my art by your wonderful words of praise!

Leave a Reply

 
