An Artist’s Journey Painting Outdoors

_______________________________________________________

Thanks to the organization of two friends I’ve met, through our shared interested in plein air painting, I’ve had a fun time traveling to beautiful locations all around Long Island.

Jeanne Salucci and I met the summer of 2008 painting en plein air with the South Bay Art Association. We followed their itinerary and we both realized we loved painting out in the fresh air. The next summer Jeanne, Mary, Chris & myself found new locations and invited other artists to join us, When the summer of 2010 began Jeanne started a blog and posted all the locations so any artist who might be interested could join in on the fun.  She started a movement here in Suffolk County which allows artists from many different towns to visit spectacular sites and paint. Jeanne researches and contacts places getting us permission to enter private estates, parks and gardens.

_________________________________________________________

Marina in The Hamlet of Brookhaven

Marina in The Hamelt of Brookhaven 2

Bellport Marina

Meadow Croft Estate in Sayville

Yapank Farm

______________________________________________________________

Jeanne calls the group PALS which stands for Plein Air Limner Society. She organized a show to celebrate the art we painted through the year. Artwork from 25 artists was displayed for a weekend and several pieces were sold. I felt the best thing about the show was  meeting all the artists at the reception and sharing stories of our adventures while painting.

_________________________________________________________

 

 

__________________________________________________________________

Christine Dupuis and I met several years ago while attending workshops at The East End Art Council in Riverhead NY. She organizes weekly plein air destinations for a group of artists on the North Fork of eastern Long Island, locations including wineries, gardens & farms. She added me to her mailing list. Unfortunately she paints on Wednesdays and I’m not available on that day which is too bad because she goes to the best places. But she does paint on many Mondays during July & Aug which works for me.

_____________________________________________________________

Trimble’s Gardens

_________________________________________________________________________

Something special happens when I arrive at a stunning location, set up my painting supplies, breath in the fresh air and get inspired by the beauty surrounding me. I do not brave the freezing cold weather during the winter months, even though many artists do. I’ll paint in my studio from photos I took reliving the glorious places I went to and painted alongside the finest artists on Long Island.

_____________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_____________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on December 27, 2010.

One Response to “An Artist’s Journey Painting Outdoors”

  1. What a nice group! I love the exhibition Jeanne organized; the paintings look so lovely all hung together.

Leave a Reply

 
