Painting Shapes

____________________________________________________________

I’m beginning a new painting working with tree shapes painted in the negative.  On wet paper I apply a wash of soft purples, blues, pinks & grays allowing the colors to mix on the paper. I splatter pure pigments to achieve a more intensive color. When the shine is almost gone I sprinkle water onto the paper which will push the pigment into new shapes.  If you look carefully at the top of the trees you can see the texture  that’s produced by splattering with paint & water.  You can begin to imagine the feeling of foliage in that area. When completely dry I begin the first wash working around the shapes of the trees.  I do not paint above the tree trunks, I fade out the wash as I near the foliage or canopy of the tree.  This wash creates the negative shapes you see in this picture.

_________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________

When the first wash is finished & completely dry I start the second wash using a slightly darker color. These tree shapes are painted using the same technique. I paint only the negative shape of the tree being careful to never paint over the first layer of tree patterns. In this picture I have started the silhouettes on the left side of the painting. You can see the depth achieved by this step that’s lacking on the right side of the painting.

_____________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________

Negative painting takes practice but the results are beautiful. I enjoy the hypnotic state I feel when I’m negative painting. I am oblivious to my surroundings and the troubles of the day just melt away. Because I chose to paint this on a full sheet of watercolor paper, 30″x 22″ I will have many hours of happiness while I paint in sheer ecstasy.

________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on March 28, 2011.

One Response to “Painting Shapes”

  1. LORRAINE THE SHOW WAS GREAT YESTERDAY – I HOPE YOU HAD A GOOD DAY – PEGGY

Leave a Reply

 
