Frank Francese Part 3

________________________________________________

I have avoided painting city scenes because of my inability to draw with accuracy the proper perspective of buildings. Last Fall I attended an intensive workshop on drawing perspective in which I had to use a ruler & T-square to achieve detailed meticulous city street scenes. I did learn a great deal from the class but never felt comfortable or the desire to paint residential or urban views. Frank Francese forever changed the way I see towns with buildings and I will consider painting a few city scenes.

Without using a preliminary sketch, without putting a single pencil mark on the paper  we had to paint a full city scene. Frank did give us his beautiful value sketch to copy. This is my painting in progress.

_________________________________________________

______________________________________________________

________________________________________________

The shadows, depicting the light source give drama and a feeling of time of day to this painting. You the viewer know what buildings should look like therefore I’m not too concerned that they are not straight perfect shapes. I enjoy their far out or unconventional style. Adding the people & cars bring life into the painting.

Take a closer look at the simplicity of the shapes of these figures, they are not much more than a few brush strokes of color.

__________________________________________________

_______________________________________________

I did practice strips of these shapes trying to gain a better understanding of how to make these images take on the characteristics of people in motion.

_________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

________________________________________________

Some of these forms are quite sweet & peculiar but they are so much fun to play with.

And playing while painting is definitely my goal.

________________________________________________

Thanks to Frank I’m continuing my journey as an artist and expanding my knowledge plus I’m having an amusing time playing with my paints.

_________________________________________________

Frank Francese & Karin Weibert

______________________________________________

Paint with Me

______________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on June 24, 2011.

3 Responses to “Frank Francese Part 3”

  1. These paintings have an energy that detailed street scenes don’t. I really like the colors.

  2. Yes Carol! I do feel the same way. I hope you had a chance to check out Frank’s web-site and see his paintings, you will love the excitement in his art.

  3. LORRAINE – THE CITY PAINTING IS GREAT AND HOW WONDERFUL YOU NOW HAVE A NEW AVENUE TO PAINT THE COLORS ARE VIVID AND IN THERE OWN WAY LOOK SO DETAILED

Leave a Reply

 
