Sun Showers

____________________________________________________

This was a fun painting that I played with for many hours

I started this piece by first dropping yellows & reds onto a full sheet of watercolor paper. Using a straw I blew the paint out from the center of the puddles to create the sun like shapes.

____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

More paint was added to characterize the flowers.

____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

I negative painted around the petals to define their structure and distinguish the flowers from the background.

____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

In the next photo I erase some areas that I’m not pleased with. The petals were too long so I felt the need to change them.

____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

I make my final changes by adding color & shape where I feel I need to adjust the balance of the artwork.

____________________________________________________

___________________________________________________

The final decision I make is to splatter & drip paint all over the painting when it is completely dry. I felt I wanted to push the flowers back into the painting and merge the shapes & colors together.

I enjoy the excitement of the paint as it runs down the paper. I like the hysteria of the movement of paint as it falls on wet paper.

___________________________________________________

Many times someone will say they liked the painting before I threw my finishing touches of paint on it. That’s OK with me. I am the person I want to please the most when I do  a painting.  Please don’t get me wrong, I do want you to admire my art. It’s just that I need to complete a painting knowing that I’m gratified and satisfied  with the finished art. I know it’s a special painting when you love it as much as I do.
_____________________________________________________

Paint with Me

____________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on July 8, 2011.

3 Responses to “Sun Showers”

  1. Just Beautiful 🙂 But, then again – I love sunflowers – so I am bias 🙂 LOL !!!

  2. Thanks 🙂 I’m so happy you enjoy this painting!

  3. Thank you for sharing your process with us; it’s so wonderful being able to see and to read what was in your thoughts as you worked on this beautiful painting. I also love your commitment to produce work that pleases you first, because if you aren’t happy with what you create, it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks.

Leave a Reply

 
