Clothesline Art Show

________________________________________

I called my niece, Samantha, and asked her to join me on my deck to create a piece of art that we could donate to the upcoming event “Clothesline Art Show” in the Village of Bellport NY. Only paper artwork is accepted which will be hung on clothesline throughout the town. All pieces are for sale for $20.

We started our paintings by charging a piece of watercolor paper with washes of colors. Then we each negative painted flower shapes using the colors of our choice. At the final step we splattered & splashed paint & water allowing the colors to drip & run together.

______________________________________

The start of Samantha's painting

_________________________________________________

Samantha's painting.

________________________________________

The start of my painting

_______________________________________________

My finished painting

______________________________________________

The pieces came out great & I had a fun time laughing, talking,  painting & just spending the afternoon with Samantha.

I’m happy to be able to join all the other artists who will also donate their artwork to help raise funds to benefit art programs in Bellport.

_________________________________________________

Paint with Me

__________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on July 19, 2011.

4 Responses to “Clothesline Art Show”

  1. LORRAINE I LIKE THE PAINTING WITHOUT THE SPLATTER
    ALL THE DETAILS SHOW AND THE LEAVES STAND OUT MORE
    AND I LOVE THE JULY SPECIAL IT IS BEAUTIFUL IT IS SO RELAXING
    TO LOOK AT

  2. Thanks Peggy….That is exactly how I felt when I saw the 2 images side by side in pictures. I will have fun doing that painting again. See you Wed 🙂

  3. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it! virtual private server | vps hosting |

  4. As difficult as it may look, these techniques are very simple and I believe anyone can do them with a little practice. Look at my March 28th post on “Painting Shapes” and see if that simplifies it for you. Thanks for your comments and I’ll keep posts coming that continue to show my love of watercolor painting.

Leave a Reply

 
