Simple Painting = Huge Relaxation

________________________________________________

Whenever friends come to visit I always ask if they would like to paint with me. Everyone says “sure but I don’t know how to paint”. I offer them a project that I know will net them good results & be enjoyable for all.

_________________________________________________

Eileen painting while Porsha watches

_________________________________________________

The project always starts with having them choose a few colors. I ask them to sample 2 different blues, reds & yellows and ask them to pick their favorites. I have them mix a few secondary colors to allow them to see what colors their choice will create.

Next I have them wet the paper and drip, splatter, pour or brush the paint onto the paper.

__________________________________________________

Eileen added color by dripping & brushing the paint.

_____________________________________________________

Using a pencil I have them draw tree shapes so they can paint the negative shapes to form the trunks & branches.

______________________________________________________

Eileen's first & second layer of trees.

__________________________________________________

When completely dry more tree shape are outlined and the negative shapes are painting again using a darker color.

____________________________________________________

Eileen's completed painting

________________________________________________

The idea of this project is to have my friends relax & enjoy themselves. I make sure they have fun and feel good about their experience playing with watercolors. They are usually pleasantly surprised by their finished painting, I am not. I have done this with many of my friends and every time I am thrilled by their reaction to their artwork.

_______________________________________________________

Lorraine's Painting

___________________________________________________________

I paint along with them and we laugh & talk & drink the entire visit. I truly relish the time I paint with each of my friends.

_____________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on November 21, 2011.

2 Responses to “Simple Painting = Huge Relaxation”

  1. I’m going to try this at home! I love what you do and I’ve seen some of the student work, it really is awesome too! funny that I can do this in batik but when it comes to watercolor I sit there dumbfounded! will try again! thanks for the inspiration Lorraine!

  2. Please spend an afternoon at the studio painting with me….watercolors of course!

Leave a Reply

 
