SKY WASHES

________________________________________________________________

I’m spending time in the studio working on painting skies. Using only 3 colors, Holbein’s Aureolin Yellow, Bright Rose & Ultramarine Blue I can mix them on the paper to create many colorful washes.

________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

The combination of the colors dictates the warmth or coolness of the painting. I’m careful not to wash a blue over a yellow because I do not want a greenish sky. I’m using a 2″ or larger brush to help spread the water & pigment to avoid streaks.

I’ll have to use dozens of pieces of paper to practice this technique. Each time my results change and I create a different mood or time of day.

I don’t consider this work, It’s playtime which is the best time for me to have fun in my studio.

_______________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on January 9, 2012.

One Response to “SKY WASHES”

  1. Your play time makes for beautiful results. It’s amazing how much can be conveyed within such minimal images. Really lovely.

Leave a Reply

 
