How Photoshop Helps Me Paint

___________________________________________________

My love of watercolor painting started a decade ago when I finally pursued a long time desire to paint and attended my first watercolor workshop. Learning how to use the medium was challenging but the biggest hurdle for me was drawing.  I struggled with all aspects of drawing & could not fully comprehend how to make the correct lines & shapes to make images seem real or accurate.

I started to photoshop my photos so I could see the shapes I needed to draw and discovered a terrific way to help myself draw.

____________________________________________________

Now I can clearly see the shapes of the clouds & the grasses.

__________________________________________________

In this photo it’s easy for me to see the layers of mountains & trees.

________________________________________________________

The shapes stand out and values are also more obvious to me now.

________________________________________________________

Once I discovered how to do this to my photos I lost my fear of drawing. This technique freed me and I no longer shy away from a specific painting because I am afraid of the drawing that’s involved. It also helped me see the shapes when I’m on location plein air painting.

_______________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on January 27, 2012.

4 Responses to “How Photoshop Helps Me Paint”

  1. Very Effective Lorraine! I bet I can do this on location with my ipad!
    but training is the key, to learn to do this without the aids. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Having an Ipad on location would be useful. It helps see the composition & values when you look at any photo. Good idea, thanks Chris

  3. How do you get Photoshop to do this? I have tried various scripts and what you are doing would get there faster!
    Thanks for writing,and painting,and sharing.

  4. Hi Cathy, I am posting a new blog to answer your question. I hope this helps you.

Leave a Reply

 
