Photoshop Filters Help Me Draw

I was asked “How do I get photoshop to do this” and I thought that was a great question that deserved an explanation. Please remember I am a watercolor artist not a technically trained digital/ graphic artist. I am sure that someone else could achieve considerable results but this is how I taught myself by trial & error.

I am currently using Adobe Photoshop CS

I open, in photoshop the image I want to draw.

ORIGINAL IMAGE

I open FILTERS on the navigation/ tool bar.

Look for ARTISTIC > CUTOUT

IMAGE IN CUTOUT

 I open FILTERS on the navigation/ tool bar.

Look for SKETCH > TORN EDGES

IMAGE IN TORN EDGES

I open FILTERS on the navigation/ tool bar.

Look for STYLIZED > GLOWING EDGES

IMAGE IN GLOWING EDGES

I spent many hours playing around in Photoshop seeing how my photos would look using a variety of filters. These 3 filters help me see the shapes & allow me to draw with confidence & courage. I will tackle almost any subject knowing I can use these tools to assist me in my drawing.

How simple these photos now look, I believe anyone could do a decent drawing of them. I hope this will benefit you and remove any fears you may have of drawing.

_____________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_____________________________________________________

 

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on February 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
