Practice, Practice, Practice

I have a burning desire to paint Butterflies. I envision them dripping and splashed with color. But perceiving them and creating them are two different things. So I practice, practice, practice.

First I start by capturing the wing shapes of the butterfly in a soft wash of colors which I mix directly on the paper using a wet into wet watercolor technique.

________________________________________________________

When dry I wash in the background colors using the same wet into wet technique.

____________________________________________________________

I added the branches to create depth. I dry brush these onto dry paper to create hard edges.

_______________________________________________________

I continued by splattering around the ends of the branches to establish the appearance of small foliage. I constructed the body of the Butterfly.

___________________________________________________________

I usually set the painting up & observe it to see where I’m at before considering it done. I also photograph it to see the image and study the values. I noticed it felt unbalanced and flat. I added a darker wash of blue in the lower left side to add more contrast.

__________________________________________________________

The dark I added pushed the viewer’s eye back into the painting and made the Butterfly the focus point. 

I learn so much by doing these practice paintings. Although I like this painting it is still not the way I want my butterflies to look. I will push my ideas further until I achieve what is in my imagination. I know I will get it out and onto my paper.  I know what I need to do.

Practice, practice, practice……

_____________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_____________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on May 29, 2012.

One Response to “Practice, Practice, Practice”

  1. THIS IS BEAUTIFUL -I JUST LOVE IT

Leave a Reply

 
