Transparent Watercolor Butterfly

I approached my idea for painting butterflies many different ways and I’m most pleased with this current technique.

_______________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________

I laid down a dark center line of paint and using a straw I blew the wet paint outward creating numerous lines in abstract shapes. While the lines were still wet I used a clean wet brush to drag & disperse the color leaving plenty of white areas within the wings.

__________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________

Very little addition paint was used to complete the wings. I did splatter paint & water to add depth to the colors. I wanted to have a translucent feel and organic shape.

____________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________

Choosing a background color that I felt would add to the image and not distract from the butterfly I used warm yellows & corals.

All that was left was adding the insects body and the painting was complete.

Through trial & error I achieved the results I was looking for. I will still work this idea and play around with more ways to push this further. But I’m happy to have come this far and get these results.

________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

________________________________________________________

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on June 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
