A Single Flower Step by Step

Single & Loving It

_____________________________________________________________________________

I started this painting by sketching the flower using a permanent ink pen. Next I negative painted around the entire flower shape

_____________________________________________________________________________

Single & Loving It ajpg

_____________________________________________________________________________

No masking product was used. I kept the flower, stems & leaves dry this way the pigment could not spread into those areas.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Single & Loving It b

____________________________________________________________________________

I painted the individual petals of the flower wet into wet allowing the colors to mix on the paper.

____________________________________________________________________________

Single & Loving It c

_____________________________________________________________________________

I wet a few petals at a time to control the flow of pigment allowing each section to dry before wetting the adjoining area.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Single & Loving It d

Single & Loving It e

Single & Loving It f

_____________________________________________________________________________

A variety of yellow, green & blue were mixed on the paper to paint the leaves & stems.

Choosing a mix of gold & orange I painted the face of the flower.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Single & Loving It h

___________________________________________________________________________

I added a darker wash of color to the face of the flower creating more depth & definition.

The last touch I added was a few brush stroke of a pale wash of a gray/violet shadow which helps to define the shape of the flower.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Single & Loving It g

___________________________________________________________________________________

One of the characteristics I like the most about watercolor paint is it’s transparency.  That is the real beauty of painting with watercolor, seeing the layers of colors through each individual wash.

___________________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

___________________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on February 12, 2013.

10 Responses to “A Single Flower Step by Step”

  1. Dear Lorraine,
    You create such BEAUTIFUL art!!!
    THANK YOU.
    ===Sho===

  2. LORRAINE – YOUR SINGLE FLOWER IS BEAUTIFUL I LOVE THE COLORS – AND I LOVE EACH STEP OF YOU PAINTING – YOU MAKE IT LOOK SO EASY – PEGGY

  3. Thank you Sho, creating art brings me such joy… knowing you find it beautiful is the icing on the cake!!

  4. Thanks Peggy, your continued support inspires me!

  5. what a stunning rendition of your beautiful flower! I really enjoy your” paint with me” blogs! I am learning a lot and having fun too. Did you paint this from a photo or life? Can u tell me what grade paper or watercolors you use? thanks so much!

  6. Thanks Deb,
    I use mostly Arches 140lb watercolor paper, I have used Gemini 140lb paper and I’m pleased with the results. My favorite brands of watercolor paints are Holbein & Daniel Smith.
    I sketched this from a photo but painted it from memory guided by the colors I felt would work best & the colors I felt I wanted to play with & see combinations of. I start all paintings by doing a simple warm up on scrap paper, I choose what colors I feel like using and see how they blend & most important…how they make me feel. This might seem strange but some days certain colors make my feel better than others.
    My blog ‘Warm Ups For Paintings’ 7/16/2012 might be helpful to you.
    Enjoy & keep painting
    Lorraine

  7. Thanks Lorraine! I just tried the people in a crowd- it was so fun. Going to practice some of your flowers now. Keep up the great blog!

  8. Great Deb, glad to hear you’re painting & having fun. Please send me a picture of your practice art so I can post it here on the blog. I’m sure others would enjoy seeing your art. Lorraine

  9. beautiful

  10. Wow this one is a stunner! I love all of the stages photos and instruction you give. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

 
