I Painted a Dog in Watercolor!

When the reality of life distracts me and I find it hard to concentrate on painting I go to my studio and organize my supplies, rearrange my space, & clean. I enjoy reviewing the large collection of photographs I’ve taken, mentally planning my next painting . As I relax my mind and stop worrying about what I should be painting something always grabs my attention and this time it was a photo of my friend’s dog named Jasmine. She is a 200 lb English Mastiff that lives with my friends Sal & Alan on 250+ acres in VT.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Jasmine a

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Working from these 2 photos I lightly sketched an outline of her face and started by painting the eyes. I couldn’t tell you why I start with the eyes but I feel if I can create lifelike eyes then I’ll have a chance of bringing a little personality or life into the painting.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Jasmine b____________________________________________________________________________________________________

A close up of the eye & the detail of shadowing the area into a droopy shape.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Jasmine c______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I continued painting the face making sure not to add too much color. This was challenging because I love COLOR but I resisted the urge to take the painting another direction by adding a variety of fun colors. My goal was to have a  realistic portrait yet not try to replicate the photo.  It was exciting to see her face take shape!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Jasmine d

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Adding the ears helped to define the outline of her head but the most fun was creating the background or illusion of her body. Here is where my watercolor paints were allowed to run and merge and flow down the paper.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Jasmine e

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

 Her face she has so much expression because of the droop & sag of her loose skin. I’m quite happy I kept the color subdue and allowed her character & demeanor to shine through. My finished painting shows what a great animal she truly is.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

__________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on September 10, 2013.

4 Responses to “I Painted a Dog in Watercolor!”

  1. wonderful! I always enjoy your work. Do you have any you tube vid’s of you painting?

  2. Lorraine!! How I enjoyed reading this post and your watercolor. THANK YOU.

    Have returned from Costa Rica. The experience was intense, beautiful, not-so-beautiful, at times hilarious, at times horrendous—all poured into one tropical rainforest jungle smoothie!

    I was on faculty for a live-in, intensive 200-hour Yoga Teacher Training in Pavones. A remote coastal village on the Pacific side of the country.

    [image: Inline image 6]

    (In the above photo, I’m the fellow on the far right, drenched in sweat. It was SO HOT & HUMID all the time there.)

    The sea at Pavones arrives via a gulf and has such BIG WAVES that surfers come from around the world to ride them.

    The actual beach is stony and not very enjoyable for me to walk on. So instead of promenading along the shore, I walked around the rainforest jungle. WOW.

    There is so much energy in the rainforest. It teems with life! And the soundtrack of large insects and animals…is so loud!!!

    Would often see Blue Morphos, BIG neon-blue butterflies. LOVED seeing them.

    [image: Inline image 1]

    Howler monkeys (whose sound can be heard for miles) lived outside my house.

    [image: Inline image 1]

    Macaw parrots would fly overhead [image: Inline image 2] And Humpback whales were seen in the waters. They had come to deliver their young. [image: Inline image 3]

    Am in Manhattan only briefly, am going to the wilderness in Utah and then to staff another Yoga program, *Let Your Yoga Dance, *at Kripalu. Afterwards will go visit my Mom in Phoenix. Hope to return to NYC in October.

    Sending you and Bruce a huge SMILE from NYC.

    Paint On, you fabulous artist, you!

    Love, ===Sho===

    On Tue, Sep 10, 2013 at 9:31 PM, PAINT WITH ME

  3. HI DEB, THANK YOU 🙂 NOT YET, PLANNING ON A VIDEO PROJECT POSSIBLY DURING THE WINTER MONTHS.

  4. She came out wonderfully, Lorraine! I look forward to more of your life studies in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
