Photos for Drawing & Watercolor Painting

I wanted to explore the possibilities of using the photos of the long horn cattle in an enlarged version. Below is the photo I took at my friend’s home in Vermont.

________________________________________________________________

LongHorn Cattle2

I cropped the original photo into 3 pieces and using an Adobe Photoshop Elements filter I was able to change them into the black & white photos I use to help me draw my subjects. By making them into shapes & values I can easily see what I need to do to create my painting.

_______________________________________________________________

cattle leftcattle left torn edges__________________________________________________________

Cattle midddleCattle midddle toen edges_______________________________________________________________

Cattle right Cattle right torn edges_______________________________________________________________

Look at each photo and see the interesting dark shapes. When I start my watercolor painting I know where the dark & light patterns are, which make up the animals and I choose a color to make those configurations. I do not have to use the actual colors of the cattle. As the artist I can choose any colors I want as long as I keep the values accurate.

____________________________________________________

Each photo is then printed onto 8×10 paper. I align them up and clip them onto a large board.

DSCN8456

DSCN8458

Now I have larger images to rearrange into any configuration of cattle I desire. I might use only the large animal on the left & paint a single portrait. I am intrigued by the composition of the 3 cattle, center to right. I will use those faces as one of the many studies I do of these majestic animals. 

_____________________________________________________

Please try using some of your photos and see what interesting compositions you can come up with. Play around with the pictures and find the ones that captivate you make you feel excited to paint it. Get busy and have fun playing with all different combinations of colors. 

_____________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_____________________________________________________

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on July 15, 2014.

2 Responses to “Photos for Drawing & Watercolor Painting”

  1. When I start my watercolor painting I know where the dark & light patterns are, which make up the animals and I choose a color to make those configurations. I do not have to use the actual colors of the cattle*. **As the artist I can choose any colors I want as long** as I keep the values accurate.*

    Hi, dear Lorraine! I hope you and Bruce are very happy and very well.

    Adored what you wrote about the artist’s perogative in today’s blog post. I remind myself of this often.

    Am getting ready to go out to the wilderness and later see my Mom in Phoenix.

    Big hug to you from Manhattan. Love, ===Sho===

    On Tue, Jul 15, 2014 at 5:25 PM, PAINT WITH ME wrote:

    > Lorraine Rimmelin posted: “I wanted to explore the possibilities of > using the photos of the long horn cattle in an enlarged version. Below is > the photo I took at my friend’s home in Vermont. > ________________________________________________________________ I cropped > the original”

  2. Great to hear from you and happy to know your Mom is well & that you will be visiting her soon. Life is good and full of color! Having a great time being back home enjoying my house. Please let me know when you are in NY and have time for a visit. (((HUGS))) to you too! LORRAINE

Leave a Reply

 
