Lian Quan Zhen Watercolor Workshop 8-8-2014 Day 4 (part 2)

We started a new project the afternoon of our final day. We are going to paint a portrait using a sketch that Lian Quan Zhen drew which we transferred onto our watercolor paper. This truly frightened me because not only am I intimidated by portraits but the drawing was so detailed and complex.

                           _________________________________________Lian Quan Zhen 8-8-2014  hThis is the sketch and the beginning of my painting. Lian walked use through his process and took us on a journey of color placement to show us how to make the shape of the face develop. First we washed the entire face, except the highlighted areas, with a pale yellow followed by a wash of pale pink. Using a light violet gray we applied that to the shadowed areas give the face depth and contour.

_______________________________________________

Lian Quan Zhen 8-8-2014  iThis is as far as I got with my portrait. I was amazed to see the face looking so realistic.

Here is the painting demo that Lian did for us that afternoon.

Lian Quan Zhen 8-8-2014  g

___________________________________

Here is the finished painting of the Polar Bears by Lian Quan Zhen

Lian Quan Zhen 8-8-2014  f

_______________________________________

 I was exhausted by the end of the 4 day workshop. I felt so challenged during this program. I can say that he helped me grow as an artist. He stimulated my passion for watercolor. He sparked new interests in my creativity by introducing my to his brilliant use of color, shape and design.

I encourage everyone to participate in an exciting & thought-provoking workshop with an artist of your choice. If you have the opportunity to attend one of Lian Quan Zehn’s programs, go and enjoy yourself. You will not be disappointed.

______________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on September 30, 2014.

2 Responses to “Lian Quan Zhen Watercolor Workshop 8-8-2014 Day 4 (part 2)”

  1. I don’t remember seeing portraits by him, but this is fantastic. I love how your painting has such depth to it after you added the shadow color…even before you added the shadow color. Great job, Lorraine. Thanks for sharing your workshop.

  2. Hi Joan.
    I’m so happy you enjoyed following along as I painted with Lian Quan Zhen. Taking a workshop with him is extremely stimulating and full of creative energy. I struggled through a portion of the class and it’s great to humble yourself. I felt like I needed to practice my skills and see things through a different set of eyes. Great learning experience. Thanks for your comments & compliments, Lorraine
    PS… His portraits were amazing to watch!

Leave a Reply

 
