Playing with Parrots in Watercolor

Many times when I arrive at my studio I’m not sure what colors, shapes & subjects will inspire me as I open my palette. Seeing the dewy pigments in their many brilliant colors helps fire up my creative juices. On this day I felt drawn to paint colorful parrots. I’ve lived with a parrot for 34 years and she is my constant companion while I’m at home. She rules all the other animals and sometimes rules my husband & me. With her in mind I began a series of small parrot portraits.

________________________________________________________________________________

PARROTS 6 PARROTS 7

___________________________________________________________________________________

Each painting took on its own color exploration.

___________________________________________________________________________________

PARROTS 3 PARROTS 4

____________________________________________________________________________________

 On several I added salt to create the texture you would see on ruffled feathers.

____________________________________________________________________________________

PARROTS 2 PARROTS 1

___________________________________________________________________________________

PARROTS 5

________________________________________________________________________

I haven’t yet finished this last bird. You can see that each painting was started with the blending & bleeding of different colors.This was a fast & fun playtime in the studio. The subject was easy and with each painting I learned a little something about the pigments I was using.

________________________________________________________________________

Find a subject and do a series of paintings. You will learn what colors play nice with others. You will learn how they blend & run together. Mostly you will remember why you started to paint with watercolors in the first place…. because they are so much fun.

______________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_____________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on November 21, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
