Through Negative Painting Flowers Appear

All runners loosen up by stretching their muscles before starting to run. As an artist I use colorful washes to get my creative juices flowing, that’s how I warm up in the studio before I get down to the business of painting. Doing a few quick washes, keeping them very wet and allowing the colors to run & flow I do these daily. When dry I can decide to use them as backgrounds for paintings or as practice paper to work out new ideas or subjects for future paintings.

This painting was done on one of these washes.

____________________________________________________

FLOWERS 1
_________________________________________________

I love negative painting. I have started to pull out flower shapes by darkening the area around the individual petals.

__________________________________________________

FLOWERS 2

_______________________________________________________

What makes it most interesting is to constantly change the colors, edges & shapes.

As the flowers take shape I begin to detail the singular flowers.

_______________________________________________________

FLOWERS 3

_________________________________________________________

This painting has an element of mystery that I find exciting. Lost & found edges are dispersed through out the image which add interest. The viewer has to fill in the blanks by using their imagination, that makes them participate in my art.

_______________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on March 24, 2015.

8 Responses to “Through Negative Painting Flowers Appear”

  1. This is beautiful artwork!! 🙂
    Keep up the great work!
    XOXO,
    Isabella

  2. Thanks Isabella 🙂

  3. Thanks for showing us your process, Lorraine. You’ve allowed me to see a little of your thought process in producing this. I like the lost and found edges and the complementary color scheme. We’re longing for spring here and this picture makes me anticipate it even more.

  4. I’m glad that my process of painting brings you pleasure. Cheers to a Happy Spring!

  5. Hi, I do watercolor batik on delicate japanese paper and always find it challenging to paint people scenes. Just found your technique: just amazing!!! Thank you so much.

  6. Anna, I looked at your website and your Batik paintings are amazing, so full of color. Glad my technique can be helpful for you. I wish you continued success with your art. Lorraine

  7. Lorraine, can you tell me if M. Graham’s Cobalt Violet is warm or cool?

  8. Hi I feel it is a cool color so I looked it up and here is the link from which I got my info
    http://www.dickblick.com/items/01705-6520/#colorpigments

Leave a Reply

 
