Painting Ducklings is Fun, Easy & Colorful

I have been enjoying painting animals and I recently painted these adorable ducklings. They are sweet and I really like the way this small painting came out.

_____________________________________________________________

A Ducklings

____________________________________________________________

I thought I’d do this painting again as a birthday gift for my 5-year-old Grand Niece Brianna. I wanted it to be a personal gift that she would know I painted just for her so I decided to paint the ducklings in her favorite color, aquamarine. After sketching the scene I negative painted around the subjects creating the dark blue background. While working around the heads I defined the short downy feathers so they would look textured. Easy to do using the point of my round brush placing it toward the head & pulling away created the spiked edges.

______________________________________________________________

Aqua Ducklings 1

______________________________________________________________

Painting the bodies was fun because I could choose beautiful aqua blues.

Correct color doesn’t matter as long as the value is right.

______________________________________________________________

 

Aqua Ducklings 2

_______________________________________________________________

Adding eyes, feet & the beaks, still using blues, complete the birds.

Next I grounded them by painting a surface for them to stand on.

______________________________________________________________

 

Aqua Ducklings 3

___________________________________________________________

The cool colors led me to thinking this looked like a winter scene therefore I added falling snow.

___________________________________________________________

Aqua Ducklings 4

_____________________________________________________________

She was so excited to rip off the wrapping paper and see her gift.

She couldn’t wait to get home and hang her new painting in her room.

Aqua Ducklings Bri

______________________________________________________

Happy Birthday Brianna

______________________________________________________

Paint with Me

______________________________________________________

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on September 1, 2015.

5 Responses to “Painting Ducklings is Fun, Easy & Colorful”

  1. Love these duckilings! Such a sweet gift and reminder of your love for Brianna!!!

  2. This is so gorgeous and I just may try it! Thank you so much for sharing!

  3. Thanks Elena. Miss you!

  4. Thanks Laura, if you try this send my a pic!

  5. I will Lorraine, if I can remember! The post menopausal brain ain’t what it used to be. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
