A Study of Cats Eyes in WATERCOLOR

Happy New Year!

My resolution is to not only create more art but to share it with you more frequently, starting today.

I have been studying animal eyes and recently I have been working on cat eyes. I start with a good photo so I can see the eye shape clearly. This is Mickey, one of the stray cats I have been taking care of for years. He’s not a friendly guy but he sure is handsome.

Cat Eyes3

I always start my painting with the eyes. I have said this before, if I can capture life like eyes the rest is easier because I feel the eyes are what create the animal’s soul.

Cat Eyes2

This is my first attempt at these eyes. although the shapes need adjusting I like the fur like quality I have achieved. Recently in a Jean Haines workshop she said, when doing the fur first touch the photo and imagine stroking the fur and feeling the directional patterns it makes. Very helpful advice.

Cat Eyes5

In these studies I can see the eye shape is better and I have added the suggestion of a nose.

Cat Eyes4

____________________________________________________________

I am pleased with these and will continue practicing until I get the results I’m looking for. Get out some scrap paper and get to work doing studies of your own. Find a subject that interests you and pick a small starting point. I choose the eyes because they intrigue me and they are challenging. Be fearless. Remember no one has to see them so take risks with color & shapes. Most of all breath & have fun!

____________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

____________________________________________________________

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on January 12, 2016.

6 Responses to “A Study of Cats Eyes in WATERCOLOR”

  1. Lorraine, these are gorgeous! I’m doing a 100 faces challenge this year, focusing on dogs and cats primarily (but birds, human and other faces too). I am so attracted to eyes and love to draw them. Wow, your studies here are just wonderful! Love the colors you’re using too and the bottom one is amazing, considering the medium. Really fine work, looking forward to seeing more!

  2. lovely painting 🙂

  3. Lovely! I love these selective close-ups!

  4. I’m so glad you enjoy this, thanks

  5. Thanks and good luck with your challenge!

  6. Thanks so much, Lorraine!

Leave a Reply

 
