Painting Frogs in Watercolor

Today, while painting with a group of artists, someone asked me if animals are what I paint because I was working on a series of frogs. I found this question quite amusing because painting animals is something I have been struggling with.  I had a full page handout of a variety of frogs that I decided would be my newest challenge.

My first frog was a little misshaped but I like the way I captured the eye. If you have read any of my previous posts on painting animal eyes you have heard me say that if I create an eye that has life in it then I feel I’ve been successful.

 

Frogs1

This next fella has a great eye but the rest of him need more color & contrast.

Frogs2This guy is my favorite. Good eyes & a decent body shape

Frogs3

 

In this enlargement you can see the eye and facial colors.

Frogs1b

I know I’m not done exploring the many ways I can paint a frog, these were just the beginning or early stages in my series of painting frogs. Don’t be afraid to use whatever colors you want. Color is not important, shapes and values are. I do not draw any pencil lines on the paper I do all my ‘drawing’ with my paintbrush. I found that when I draw the animal I get frustrated if it doesn’t come out exactly right and then I’m trying to correct it with my painting. Working without a drawing gives me total freedom with my brush & paints.

Find an animal that interests you and start painting

 

Paint with Me

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on February 16, 2016.

4 Responses to “Painting Frogs in Watercolor”

  1. They’re cute. ❤ ❤

  2. Thanks!

  3. Frogs seem especially hard to draw or paint. These came out well. I like how they look loose but accurate, but maybe even more contrast would be good. 🙂

  4. Thanks and you are right they can be difficult yet fun.

Leave a Reply

 
