Dogs In Watercolor – It’s all about the eyes Part 1

This past year I have developed a passion for painting animals. I especially love the eyes. Soulful or indifferent the eyes of our pets can convey to us how they’re feeling.  

Painting the eyes is like bringing each animal to life, whether it a cat, dog. bird or frog.

Dogs 7

I start each painting with the eyes

Dogs 6

I use my own photos. I think it’s much more interesting to know the animal I am painting. Maybe I see each animal’s personality come alive in my art.

 

Dogs 2

I will do many small paintings as I work my way through the process of understanding the colors, shapes & values needed to achieve what I feel is a successful portrait.

Dogs 1

Not every one comes out to my satisfaction, like the last painting (below). I feel the eyes have great contrast but they are too round and lack shadow from the upper eyelid.  The overall shape of the head is wrong too. I wanted to share both my successful and not too successful practice paintings with you.

Dogs 4

You must have a subject that brings excitement to you. I find myself thinking about what I’m going to paint & what colors I want to use as I drive to the studio. I am constantly taking photos of my family’s pets. All it takes is one expressive face and I’m overwhelmed with desire to capture that face with my watercolor paints.

_____________________________________________________

Paint with Me

____________________________________________________ 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on May 17, 2016.

2 Responses to “Dogs In Watercolor – It’s all about the eyes Part 1”

  1. Beautiful work and I know just what you mean about having an animal’s face (or any face) captivate you. ❤

  2. Glad to know I’m not the only artist that gets captivated by a sweet face. Thanks Laura

Leave a Reply

 
