Choosing A Watercolor Palette

As individuals we all have our likes and dislikes, that’s why there are so many choices when making a purchase. Do your research and read the reviews when buying a new palette.

I use a variety of palettes but I will share my 3 favorites with you.

palette2

palette4

John Pike Palette

This was my 1st palette and it is my favorite palette for several reasons.  It is almost indestructible because it is made of a very hard plastic that does not bend & crack I am using the same palette for 17 years and I still love it. It is my daily studio palette. About once a year I re-evaluate my choice of colors and I might switch out one for another more desirable color.

~It seals tight and keeps my paints moist, which is very important to me. I use tube pigments and when I open my palette I do not want to find dried up paints.

~It has 20 paint wells. 16= 1 1/2″ & 4= 2″ I also purchase empty full pans. I can fit 2 pans into 1 well to double the color capacity within my palette. The wells are large enough to accommodate my large brushes.

~ 10 1/2″ X 15″ It has a large mixing area plus the top can be used as a mixing area too. I do not mix my colors on the palette, I use large puddles of individual color therefore I need room to work in my style. The only color mixing I do on my palette is for grays or browns

_________________________________________________________________

palette1

palette3

Mijello Artelier Peel Off Palette

~ This is my travel or going to workshop palette because it is slightly smaller than the John Pike palette yet it is large enough for my needs. 9″ x 13″  It fits into most flat bottom art bags.

~This palette seals tight and does not leak. It has a rubber seal to prevent leakage. I never stand my palette on its edge when traveling because the moisture of the paints can run within the palette.

~ Considering it’s size the mixing area is sufficient for my use.

~It has 24 wells, (3 measure 2 1/2″) I can have plenty of color choices because of the amount of wells.

________________________________________________________________

I also use a smaller palette made by Mijello   It is the perfect size for Plein Air painting or for just sitting on my deck while painting the views or gardens. The Mijello Fusion Airtight Leakproof Palette comes in 3 sizes and has a removable tray that fits into the lid. Both the tray and the lid can be used as mixing areas giving me plenty of space to make color puddles.

18 Wells  10 1/2″ x 5″—24 Wells 12″ x 5 “—33 Wells 12 1/2″ x 6”

________________________________________________________________

When using a new palette if the water/pigment beads up & separates in the mixing area use some comet or abrasive cleaner on the mixing area. You want to break up the shiny surface which will then allow the water to pool together.

Pick out your palette, fill it with your favorite colors and have fun. I will share my choices of color and how I set up my palette in my next Blog titled “Setting up my watercolor palette”.

________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on January 4, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
