A Successful Watercolor Painting

I am just like you. Lately my desire to paint has far outweighed my ability to paint. My time has been consumed with other obligations and even when I have the time to paint I am either too tired or I start painting only to feel that everything I do turns into an epic failure. I know I am not alone in these feelings.

While spending a weekend in the mountains in Vermont I was looking forward to having the pleasure of indulging myself in my passion of painting. I had lots of new colors I wanted to try out and plenty of good quality paper. I made sure I brought along stimulating references, I was all ready to paint! But nothing materialized from the bristles of my brush. Each attempt to paint ended in what I felt was a disaster. I packed up all my art supplies and filled my time with other activities.

The day I arrived home, after a 6 hour car ride I decided that I needed to paint something, anything that would help me feel fulfilled and fruitful as an artist. I set up my mini watercolor supplies and on a small, 5″x7″ paper I sketched a succulent plant.

I only used colors that I love, remember I’m painting this to make myself feel good.

The Plant

I worked each leaf individually allowing them to fully dry before painting the adjoining leaf.

The Plant2

The Plant3

When it was completed I have to admit I felt good. My value as an artist soared. You may think that I was putting a little too much emotion into the success of a painting. I know there are many artist who can relate to how I felt by painting something that made me feel such delight within myself

Artists paint for a variety of reasons. One of the top reasons I paint is because of how it makes me feel. I needed to feel good about my painting abilities. I needed to feel successful as an artist. This little painting made be feel larger than life and that’s a good feeling.

How does painting make you feel?

_______________________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on May 21, 2017.

4 Responses to “A Successful Watercolor Painting”

  1. Beautiful shades of greens. Lovely!

  2. Thanks!

  3. It gives me hope that I will create good art. I enjoyed your painting by the way.

  4. Thanks and YOU WILL create good art!

Leave a Reply

 
