Painting the Swan Family in Watercolor

 

Cygnets 7 2017

I feel so blessed to be able to see these sweet baby swans swim daily by my house. Most days they stop by, have a bite to eat and sun themselves on the warm sand. I have dozens of photos of them. I’m hoping to spend lots of time painting them with my watercolors.

I choose this photo because I liked the composition of the 3 cygnets. First I sketch the image onto my watercolor paper. I am using Arches 140lb paper 15″x11″ I paint the eyes first, I feel it starts to bring the animals to life.

Cignets A1

To start painting the birds I am using Hematite Genuine a Daniel Smith watercolor paint. I love the granulating effect it achieves. It is great for painting animal fur or wherever I need texture.

Cignets A2

Cignets A3

When the babies are finished I add a background to the painting. I am using Luna Blue and a touch of Phtalo Blue both are Daniel Smith paints.

Cignets A4 copy

My finished painting is only my 1st attempt at painting this photo. I will take the parts that I feel are successful and use them in the next painting and the areas that I feel were unsuccessful I will use as a learning experience.

I’m already looking forward to getting back into my studio and starting another painting of this photo. I will make sure I share those results with you soon.

_____________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

______________________________________________________________

 

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on June 21, 2017.

5 Responses to “Painting the Swan Family in Watercolor”

  1. Nice, thank you for sharing!!

  2. Thanks Debbie …Happy Painting to you!

  3. Beautiful painting of these precious little cygnets. Thank you for this delightful postπŸ‘πŸ»πŸ€—

  4. Thanks, I’m so glad you enjoyed this post.

  5. […] via Painting the Swan Family in Watercolor β€” PAINT WITH ME […]

Leave a Reply

 
