Brianna painting with watercolor

 

I developed this simple exercise of painting flowers in pots as a lesson to show how to paint wet-in-wet and how to control edges. This is a fun study of painting flowers and my students always are successful with this task. I decided to share this exercise with Brianna, my 6-year-old Great Niece. She has been painting with me since she was 2 years old and her skill with watercolor is constantly growing.

I showed her the first step, painting the pots and allowing the colors to bleed into one another.

______________________________________________________________________

 

Brianna working on her pots

Brianna flowering pots class1

Next I added the flowers using an assortment of colors. These too are allowed to blend on the paper. I showed her how to pull out some spikes on a few or the flowers using a rigger brush.

Brianna flowering pots class3

My demo painting

Brianna handled the flowers exceptionally well and floated in her colors keeping the paint wet to be able to pull out the spikes. BUT to my surprise she asked me for a straw and proceeded to blow out the edge of the flowers to create the desired effect. She saw a better way to change the edges so she used a blowing technique. This surprised me. Her knowledge of the various watercolor techniques and when to apply them proved to me that her grasp and awareness of the use watercolor is by far greater than I could have imagined.

Brianna flowering pots class2

Brianna flowering pots class4

Brianna’s finished painting

She was so pleased with herself and I could see the confidence with which she paints is growing greater with each painting. I am so proud of her and look forward to many delightful experiences painting with her.

FLOWERING POTS AABri

Here are some of the flowering pots I did as examples either in my classes or preparing for my classes.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

FLOWERING POTS AA2

FLOWERING POTS AA1

________________________________________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

_______________________________________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on July 15, 2017.

2 Responses to “Brianna painting with watercolor”

  1. I’ve watched Brianna grow each year, i remember when her “number” was 3… and now its 6- I have to say she’s better at watercolor than I am! I am going to start doing these demos Lorraine! Best of luck to both of you keep up the w=good work! Go Brianna!!! can’t wait to see your next adventure!- chris

  2. Hi Chris, Thanks I will make sure Brianna reads your comment. I am sure she will like this. Thanks Lorraine

Leave a Reply

 
