Negative Painting & The Use of Clear Plastic Wrap

Although I love to read I would become bored if I had to read the same book over & over again no matter how much I loved the book. That is how I feel about painting. I love using my colors & brushes to make interesting images but I am constantly tweaking how I accomplish the final results. After seeing Jean Haines using ‘cling wrap’ or ‘saran wrap’ to create interesting marks on watercolor paper I thought I would find my own use for it in my painting process.

_________________________________________________________

Negative Trees with saran wrap1_________________________________________________________

I applied a colorful wash and while the paper was still wet I stretched the plastic wrap as I laid it on the lower half of my paper. I crumpled the plastic wrap as I laid it on the top half of my paper. I had tree shapes in mind as I did this trying to make long vertical marks below & scrunched up marks on top. When dry, I gently removed the plastic wrap.

__________________________________________________________

Negative Trees with saran wrap2

_____________________________________________________________

The plastic wrap left exactly the imprints I wanted. On the left I started negative painting a tree shape using a slightly darker pink color.

____________________________________________________________

Negative Trees with saran wrap3

________________________________________________________

The first wash is completed and you can see the outline of the 3 trees and their many branches.

_______________________________________________________

Negative Trees with saran wrap4

______________________________________________________

In this 4th photo I have half of the second layer of trees completed using a purple color I negative pained around the tree shapes.

______________________________________________________

Negative Trees with saran wrap5 copy

________________________________________________________

I use a darker wash to define the final layer of trees & branches.

The painting is complete and I enjoyed the interesting & organic marks left on the paper from the plastic wrap. Using these marks allowed me to direct the tree trunks & branches in unique directions creating engaging & intriguing forms.

This small (6″x9″) painting exudes energy & I will now see what I can achieve on a much larger sheet of watercolor paper.

_________________________________________________________

Even if you love what you are painting, try something different and see how it changes how you paint. Even the smallest change could lead you into a new direction of painting. Have fun!

_________________________________________________________

Paint with Me

__________________________________________________________

~ by Lorraine Rimmelin on January 26, 2016.

4 Responses to “Negative Painting & The Use of Clear Plastic Wrap”

  1. A friend does this with her collage work using acrylics and she gets very nice effects just as you did.

  2. Thanks Michael 🙂

  3. Looks lovely !! Cool idea 🙂

  4. Thanks, glad you like it!

Leave a comment